May I give graciously of what is mine

As you may have been able to tell by now I am very passionate about my sorority, Delta Zeta.  One of the main reasons for my passion and devotion is that it is a philanthropy based organization.  Delta Zeta has two philanthropies, Speech and Hearing and the Painted Turtle Camp.  As a whole Delta Zeta donates millions of dollars a year to both the Painted Turtle Camp and their speech and hearing philanthropies.

The Painted Turtle Camp

The Painted Turtle’s mission is to provide a year-round, life-changing environment and authentic camp experience for children with chronic and life-threatening illnesses.  My chapter at Plymouth State donates to this camp every year with whatever amount of money we raise within each semester.

painted turtle

Community Service

Not only do we donate money to our national philanthropies, as a chapter we do many community service hours a semester.  In the spring of 2014 my chapter did over 1,100 hours combined.  I was very proud of the chapter once I found out that number.  One of the main community service projects that we all do together is volunteering at a lacrosse tournament called the Northeast Classic.  One of our alumni and her husband are the people who started the organization and the main purpose of the organization is to raise money for cancer awareness.  As a chapter we go down to support our alumni with her organization and we all volunteer for the weekend and help out.

As the Delta Zeta creed states ‘To those whom my life may touch in slight measure, may I give graciously of what is mine.’  This part of the creed definitely makes me appreciate the sorority because I love that they are all about helping people.

Volunteering at the Northeast Classic

Volunteering at the Northeast Classic

 

Leave a Reply

